Roger William Market

Words. Clarity. Art.

REB #18: “Al Qaeda gives you their word.”

Posted by Roger Market on 2-October-2010


– Bekay Harrach, quoted in a CNN.com article

Let me ask you something: when “Al Qaeda gives you their word,” which (ironically) happens to be grammatically incorrect, do you believe it?

No sir/mam, you do not fucking believe it! Because it’s Al Qaeda. Look at everything it stands for and everything it’s done. No matter what happens, no matter what we and Europe do, how can we have any confidence that Al Qaeda wouldn’t renege on the deal? “Trust Al Qaeda” is my new favorite oxymoron, right up there with “Microsoft Works.”

That is all.

*NOTE: This blog entry is syndicated from a blog I had to start for my Electronic Publishing class at U.B. this semester. I may or may not delete the extraneous blog when the class is over, but I thought I would at least give my readers the opportunity to read the contents of that blog indefinitely.

Leave a comment