Roger William Market

Words. Clarity. Art.

My New Blog Setup!

Posted by Roger Market on 17-October-2010


I just want to let you all know that, because I had to make a website for my electronic publishing class and have decided to try using it at my rogermarket.com domain, with my blog as a supplement instead of the sole content, I have changed the way everything works at the domain. You’ll still have access to all the same blog content, but it will be hosted on a different server, alongside my website. You won’t notice much of a visual difference, except for the most obvious change: you’ll go through the website to get to the blog. You can still access everything by going to rogermarket.com.

That said, you will still be able to access my original WordPress by going to rogermarket.wordpress.com, but for the time being, it will remain static. Stagnant. Unchanged. Everything that was there will still be there, but it will also be on my “new” blog on my new server. I just won’t be mapping my WordPress blog to the domain anymore; that’s the big difference.

With the new format, whenever you go to rogermarket.com, you’ll get my new website (which is still very much a work in progress), and one of the many links goes to my “new” blog. Like I said, all the content of the blog is the same; everything is still there, but it will look different, and any future posts will appear there but not on the old WordPress.com blog. My WordPress blog (which you can now refer to as a WordPress.org blog, since the .org version is the customizable, self-hosted one) is now being hosted on my very own website server instead of a blog-only, simplified WordPress.com server. This means I have more control, in some ways, than I had before.

This seems so redundant, but at the same time, I feel like each new way of explaining it is important. Anyway, I apologize for that, but I hope there isn’t any confusion. See you on the new site!

P.S. This is important: if you happened to subscribe to my blog before through rogermarket.com/feeds, you should switch to my Feedburner feed at feeds.feedburner.com/RogerWilliamMarket. That way, if/when I change in the future, you won’t have to do anything; you’ll still get my subscription feed in your RSS reader.

Leave a comment